Migratio New Zealand · Guides · Find advisers · For advisers

Registered Nurses Moving to New Zealand: How the Rules Fit Together

A nurse trained overseas deals with two separate bodies: the Nursing Council of New Zealand for registration, and Immigration New Zealand for the visa. The Council's published fee is NZD 485 plus outside costs, and every overseas applicant first verifies documents with TruMerit. INZ lists many registered nurse specialties on its Green List but shows the tier for each role only in its search tool.

People searching "nurse visa NZ" or "Green List nurse" are usually trying to find out which step comes first. There is no single application. A nurse who trained overseas deals with at least two different organisations, and each one has its own rules, its own fees and its own timeline.

The Nursing Council of New Zealand decides who may be registered as a nurse. Immigration New Zealand (INZ) decides who may be granted a visa. The employer, who is neither of these, decides who gets a job. The Council states: "The Council has no role in the recruitment or employment of internationally qualified nurses."

This guide explains how those pieces work as the Council and INZ publish them, read on 10 October 2026. It describes the rules. It does not say whether any reader's qualification will be accepted, whether a competence assessment will be required for a particular nurse, or which visa a particular nurse could apply for. Applying the rules to one person's facts is immigration advice, and in New Zealand only a licensed immigration adviser or a lawyer may give it. Questions about nursing registration itself go to the Nursing Council.

Registration and visa are separate decisions

The Nursing Council's page for internationally qualified nurses says that a nurse "may apply to become registered as a nurse in New Zealand if you are currently registered with an overseas regulatory authority and meet Nursing Council requirements." That is a registration question. A visa is a different question, answered by INZ under different rules.

Several INZ residence and work visas depend on a job with an accredited employer, and some Green List roles list registration as a requirement. For the Philippines Special Work Visa, INZ says a registered nurse must have New Zealand registration and that "You will need to have New Zealand registration before we can grant you a visa." Whether registration must already be in place when a different visa is applied for is stated on that visa's page, and the Green List shows the requirements for each role.

The practical effect is that the two processes can depend on each other, and neither organisation's timeline is controlled by the other. The Council also says its processing time "is separate from, and does not include, the time TruMerit takes to verify and authenticate your documents."

The Nursing Council process for nurses registered overseas

The Council describes two steps for internationally qualified nurses other than those with a current Australian practising certificate.

Step 1 is verification with TruMerit, an external organisation. The Council lists what must be verified:

  • identity;
  • current registrations held in the last 10 years;
  • nursing qualifications (the Council itself assesses whether they are equivalent to New Zealand qualifications);
  • evidence of English language proficiency; and
  • 1,800 hours of post-registration nursing experience.

The Council is explicit that this order matters: "You cannot apply directly to the Council to be registered. You must first apply to TruMerit to verify and authenticate your documents before you can apply to be registered."

Step 2 is the application to the Council, which happens after TruMerit has verified the documents. The Council's FAQ says an email from the Council then invites the nurse to apply. The nurse does not send documents to the Council; the FAQ says TruMerit sends them. The application includes:

  • two online courses, which the Council says carry no charge, introducing culturally safe nursing practice and Te Tiriti o Waitangi (Foundations in Cultural Competency, and Module 1 of Ngā Paerewa Te Tiriti o Waitangi), with the completion record uploaded to the Council's MyIQN portal;
  • a criminal history check, which the Council says is done at the applicant's cost by Fit2Work and covers every country lived in for 12 months or more within the last seven years; and
  • a competence assessment, for some registered nurses and all enrolled nurses.

The Council adds that statutory declarations in the application must be completed by the applicant personally: they "cannot be completed by an agent or third party", and if one is, the application "will be unable to be processed." An applicant who does use an agent or third party must complete the Council's form confirming that person's authority.

What the Council requires, item by item

The Council's requirements page lists these items.

Identity. Notarised or certified colour copies of the current passport and one other form of identity document go directly to TruMerit.

Current registration. The nurse must currently be registered overseas as a nurse. The Council seeks information from the overseas authorities that held the registration in the last 10 years.

Qualifications. For a registered nurse the Council requires a Bachelor of Nursing degree or the equivalent, or a master's degree in nursing that led to registration. For an enrolled nurse it requires a Diploma in Enrolled Nursing or a comparable qualification. The Council may ask for more information to compare an overseas qualification with New Zealand ones.

Post-registration experience. A declaration of at least 1,800 hours of practice. The Council warns: "If you apply to TruMerit with fewer than the required 1,800 practice hours, your application to the Nursing Council will be delayed and further verified information will be required from you to support your application." It adds that a nurse with no post-registration experience at all is not eligible to apply.

English language. The common route is a Council-approved test. For the Occupational English Test (OET) the minimum is 350 for reading, listening and speaking and 300 for writing. For IELTS Academic it is 7 for reading, listening and speaking and 6.5 for writing. The scores may be achieved over more than one sitting, but within 12 months of first sitting the test, and all sittings must fall within the three years before the application. The Council says it does not accept online computer-based tests taken at home, though computer-based tests at an approved centre are accepted, and "We do not accept PTE." Some nurses educated or registered in the United Kingdom, Singapore, Ireland, Canada or the United States may be invited to apply for an alternative English language evidence pathway, decided at the Council's discretion.

Fitness to practise. The criminal history check described above.

The Council states that all fees paid are non-refundable, and that an application can be withdrawn at any stage.

The competence assessment

The Council says it "will require some registered nurses and all enrolled nurses to undertake an assessment of competence." Which registered nurses is decided by the Council after it assesses an application. Its page explains that where nursing education that led to registration was completed in the UK, Ireland, Ontario, British Columbia, Singapore or the USA, the application is assessed and the nurse "may not be required" to undertake a competence assessment, and that the Council will advise after assessment. The Council's online self-assessment tool gives an indication only; it says the outcome is not confirmed until the assessment is completed.

Where an assessment is required it has two parts.

  • A theoretical examination: an online multiple-choice exam in two parts (Part A, medication safety, and Part B, nursing knowledge), taken at a Pearson test centre overseas or in New Zealand. The Council says there are three attempts, and a nurse who fails one part re-sits only that part.
  • A clinical competence assessment: a two-day orientation and preparation course followed by a three-hour objective structured clinical examination (OSCE). Registered nurses complete 10 OSCE stations and enrolled nurses complete 8. Both parts must be taken in person at the Nurse Maude Simulation and Assessment Centre in Christchurch. The OSCE may be taken up to three times in total.

This means a nurse who is required to sit the clinical part has to travel to New Zealand for it. That fact matters for anyone planning around visitor visa rules, because a visitor visa does not permit work: INZ's Visitor Visa page states that applicants must not plan to work in New Zealand, other than remotely for an overseas business. Which visa suits that trip is a question for a licensed adviser, not something this guide can say.

Costs the Council publishes

As published by the Council on 10 October 2026, with outside costs shown in the currency the Council states:

  • Nursing Council application fee: NZD 485.
  • TruMerit document verification: USD 380.
  • Criminal history check through Fit2Work: AUD 155 per country.
  • Theoretical examination, Part A and Part B together: NZD 140. Re-sit of Part A: NZD 32. Re-sit of Part B: NZD 108. These are quoted in New Zealand dollars but payable in the currency of the country where the exam is sat.
  • Orientation and preparation course: NZD 500.
  • Clinical examination (OSCE): NZD 3,000. A re-sit of the OSCE: NZD 3,000.

The Council also notes there may be other costs from outside providers, such as translating original documents into English. Visa fees are separate and are set by INZ; INZ's published fee for the Straight to Residence Visa, for example, was "From NZD $6450" on 10 October 2026. Check the Council's registration costs page and INZ's fee finder on the day of any decision, because both change.

Nurses holding Australian registration

The Council runs a separate route for nurses with a current Australian practising certificate. Its page explains that the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997 provides for reciprocal registration, and that three scopes of practice have mutual recognition: enrolled nurse, registered nurse and nurse practitioner. The Council may place conditions on a scope of practice. It adds that a nurse who was previously registered with the Council should not apply for registration again but should email the Council about a practising certificate, and that the application fee is not refunded if a previously registered nurse applies for registration anyway.

Midwives are outside the Nursing Council's process. The Council says a registered midwife wanting to register as a midwife in New Zealand should contact the Midwifery Council of New Zealand.

How INZ's Green List treats nursing roles

INZ's Green List is the list of jobs INZ says it needs people for in New Zealand. INZ describes it this way: "Tier 1 jobs allow you to apply for a Straight to Residence Visa" and "Tier 2 jobs allow you to apply for a Work to Residence Visa."

The Green List search lists nursing roles by specialty. On 10 October 2026 the role names in its health and social services filter included Registered Nurse (Aged Care), Registered Nurse (Child and Family Health), Registered Nurse (Community Health), Registered Nurse (Critical Care and Emergency), Registered Nurse (Developmental Disability), Registered Nurse (Disability and Rehabilitation), Registered Nurse (Medical Practice), Registered Nurse (Medical), Registered Nurse (Mental Health), Registered Nurse (Paediatrics), Registered Nurse (Perioperative), Registered Nurse (Surgical) and Registered Nurses nec, as well as Nurse Practitioner and Enrolled Nurse (Nursing Assistant).

Which of those roles is Tier 1 and which is Tier 2, and what registration, experience or pay each requires, is shown only when a role is searched on INZ's Green List page. This guide does not state tiers because they are not shown in the list of names and INZ can change them. INZ also says Green List requirements "can include needing to be paid a certain amount or have a specific registration, professional membership, or qualification."

On pay, INZ's Straight to Residence page says a job must pay "at least the rate specified for your Green List Tier 1 job, or the current median wage if a pay rate is not specified for your job". The median wage INZ uses is NZD 35.00 an hour (the 2025 median), in force from 9 March 2026. Other residence and work visas have their own pay tests; see the guides to the Work to Residence Visa and the Accredited Employer Work Visa.

Two other INZ rules touch nurses specifically:

  • Under the Skilled Migrant Category points-based pathway, INZ gives points for an eligible New Zealand occupational registration according to the minimum years of training the registration requires: 6 points for 6 years, 5 for 5, 4 for 4 and 3 for 2. Whether a given registration is on INZ's list of eligible registrations is checked on INZ's pages. The points pathway is explained in the SMC points guide.
  • For Filipino registered nurses INZ runs a separate quota visa, covered in the guide to NZ visas for Filipino citizens.

Employment, scams and advice

The Council observes that New Zealand has recently employed a large number of internationally qualified nurses, so demand is lower than before except in some areas of speciality or experience, and it encourages nurses to explore employment before applying for registration or travelling. That is the Council's own statement of the market, and it can change.

INZ's scam guidance applies to nursing job offers as it does to any other. INZ says: "New Zealand employers or agents cannot charge you fees for a job or make you pay any of their recruitment costs." It also says: "You are not required to use an adviser to apply for a visa," and that INZ "will not prioritise your application because you use an adviser."

Who may advise on registration and who may advise on visas differ. The Nursing Council answers questions about its own requirements. Advice on a visa application, such as which visa to apply for, is regulated: INZ says it must come from a licensed immigration adviser or someone exempt from licensing. The guides to checking an adviser's licence and to unlicensed immigration advice explain how to check.

Finding a licensed immigration adviser

Migratio lists licensed immigration advisers so you can compare them and contact one directly. Every listing shows the adviser's licence number, which you can check on the Immigration Advisers Authority's public register before you book. We don't assess cases and don't tell anyone which visa or pathway fits them; that is the adviser's job.

Questions people ask

Do I need to be registered in New Zealand before I can apply for a visa?

It depends on the visa and the job. INZ's Philippines Special Work Visa page, for example, says New Zealand registration is needed before a visa can be granted. For other visas, the visa page and the Green List entry for the role state what applies. A licensed immigration adviser can explain how that fits a particular case.

What English test scores does the Nursing Council accept?

The Council lists the Occupational English Test (350 for reading, listening and speaking, 300 for writing) and IELTS Academic (7 for reading, listening and speaking, 6.5 for writing). It says it does not accept PTE. Some nurses educated or registered in certain countries may be offered an alternative pathway at the Council's discretion.

Is a competence assessment always required?

The Council says it will require some registered nurses and all enrolled nurses to take one. It decides after assessing the application, and its self-assessment tool is indicative only.

Can an agent complete the Nursing Council application for me?

The Council allows an agent or third party to act if the applicant submits its authority form, but says statutory declarations must be completed by the applicant personally; otherwise the application cannot be processed.

Are the Nursing Council fees refundable?

No. The Council states that all fees paid are non-refundable, including when an application is withdrawn.

Which Green List tier are registered nurses in?

INZ lists many registered nurse specialties on the Green List but shows the tier and requirements for each role only in its search tool. Check the role on INZ's Green List page on the day you decide.

Sources

Last checked 2026-10-10.

Related guides

  • Straight to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 1): How It Works — The Straight to Residence Visa is for people aged 55 or younger with a job or offer from an accredited employer in a Green List Tier 1 role, paid the role's specified rate or the median wage. INZ showed a fee of NZD 6,450 and 80% of applications completed within 3 months on 9 October 2026. The role list is searchable on INZ's site.
  • Work to Residence Visa (Green List Tier 2): How It Works — The Work to Residence Visa is for people aged 55 or younger who have worked 24 months in a Green List Tier 2 job in New Zealand within the 30 months before applying, and who hold or are offered a job with an accredited employer. INZ showed a fee of NZD 6,450 on 9 October 2026. The wage rate that counts is the one in force when the work experience started.
  • SMC Points in NZ: How the 6-Point System Works — The Skilled Migrant Category points-based pathway needs 6 skilled resident points. INZ lets points come from one category only (qualification, occupational registration or income), topped up by up to 3 points of New Zealand skilled work experience. This guide sets out INZ's published tables as read on 9 October 2026.
  • Accredited Employer Work Visa (AEWV): The 2026 Rules — The Accredited Employer Work Visa is New Zealand's main employer-sponsored work visa. The job must be full-time (30+ hours), with an accredited employer holding an approved job check, and paid at least the required rate. INZ showed a fee of NZD 1,540 and 80% of applications within 5 weeks on 9 October 2026. The longest continuous stay is 5 years, or 3 years for skill level 4 or 5 jobs.
  • Paying for an NZ Job Offer: What INZ Says — Immigration New Zealand says New Zealand employers or agents cannot charge a worker fees for a job or make them pay recruitment costs, and that it will decline an Accredited Employer Work Visa application if the applicant or their agent offered or promised money for a job offer. INZ calls job offer scams common in India and South Asia.
  • How to Check an NZ Immigration Adviser's Licence — Search the adviser's name or licence number on the Immigration Advisers Authority (IAA) public register and confirm the status reads current. The record also shows whether the licence is full, provisional or limited. Lawyers are not on that register; check them on the New Zealand Law Society's register of lawyers.